Rip Room

Alight and Resound

Regular price $24.99

Bundle it With

In a time of digital polish and studio patchwork, it has become increasingly rare to hear a record that captures the lightning-in-a-bottle dynamics of a live performance. Music continues to fill our queues, but it feels less and less human, so when a record breaks through the static, it can be a revelation. Introducing the wound-up art punks in San Francisco’s Rip Room. After successfully self-releasing and touring on two EPs, the three piece returned to Louder Studios in Grass Valley, CA to reunite with storied engineer Tim Green (Nation of Ulysses, Melvins, Bikini Kill, Sebadoh). The result is the charismatic and alluringly unpredictable debut full-length record, Alight and Resound, twelve pulsing songs that harken back to better musical times while somehow embracing the relevance of the moment. Think Unwound, Sleater-Kinney, and Fugazi. Propulsive rhythms and piercing lyrics, but with a sense of buoyancy. Brashness over banality. Wolves in sheep’s clothing.

Our sound was once described as ‘dance music for people who don’t like to dance,’ which I don’t agree with — I’d say it’s ‘dance music for people who like to dance but are also bummed out’.

- Sarah McKinney

1. Complication
2. Loose Ends
3. Worth Repeating
4. Dead When It Started
5. Aligned But Not Specific
6. The Timing's Never Right
7. Discover What Your Monsters Are
8. Second To None
9. Get On In The World
10. Flaw In The Logic
11. Not In Your Corner
12. Abandon Ship!

First pressing limited to 500 copies:

• Heat Death (Swamp Green / Beer Swirl with Blood Red and Deep Purple Splatter) (250)
• Ambrosia (Aqua Blue / Bone Swirl with Oxblood, Canary Yellow, and Piss Yellow Splatter) (150)
• Blood Shatter (Black in Milky Clear and Transparent Red Half and Half with Red, White, and Black Splatter) (100)

Full color die-cut jacket printed on reverseboard stock with full-color printed insert with high gloss spot varnish.

Album Length
Release Date
May 27, 2022
Catalog Number
LP / Digital