The Farewell Bend

In Passing

Regular price $24.99

Spartan Records proudly announces the re-issue of The Farewell Bend's 90's classic In Passing - a supergroup trio featuring members of the seminal midwest emo bands Boys Life (Brandon Butler, John Rejba) and Giants Chair (Paul Ackerman). Kansas City bred, The Farewell Bend builds upon the sum of its critically acclaimed parts and delivers a record self-described as an assault on the mundane pop rock of the time. "This is not a happy, smile pop, shit record," says frontman Brandon Butler, "it rocks you." Guitar-driven and hammeringly propulsive, In Passing evokes the more aggressive moments of the nineties movement without comprising accessible melodies and palatability. Remastered by Paul Malinowski (Shiner) and now available again on vinyl for the first time in over 20 years, the new pressing also includes the bonus track "Service Engine Soon" previously available on the band's 1998 split 7" with Shiner. All hail the Midwest sound!

1. Heads Down
2. The Pen Ran Out Of Ink
3. Go Easy
4. On 3
5. Gift Horse
6. South For The Summer
7. St. Christopher
8. Open Door Policy
9. Walk It Off
10. Rumors About Lightning
11. Service Engine Soon (Bonus Track)

First pressing limited to 500 copies:

• Kansas City Splatter (Orange in Baby Pink in Transparent Bright Yellow with Olive Green and Baby Blue Splatter) (300)
• Neon Orange / Black / Neon Green Tri-Color Stripe (100)
• Neon Orange / Neon Green Half and Half (100) - Stiff Slack Exclusive (Japan)

Full color jacket printed on semi-gloss stock with uncoated insert and black dust sleeves.

All orders include an instant download of In Passing and the bonus track "Service Engine Soon."

Alternative, Indie Rock
Album Length
Release Date
January 29, 2021
Catalog Number
LP / Digital