The Never-Ending Year

Regular price $19.99

In certain seasons, time can depart from the static drone of minutes and hours and days and months, and settle into a less mechanical rhythm. It is replaced by something more organic -- a fluctuating heartbeat, both resting and racing. This transition happens without notice as slowly the external becomes the internal. In more linear terms, the new decade will mark a new addition to the Spartan Records roster — Iceland’s VAR, a melodic indie rock quartet. Building upon four years of performance and experimentation within their home country, VAR has honed their devastatingly beautiful sound into something more refined and explosive on their debut LP The Never-Ending Year. Think Sigur Ros with more urgency, We Were Promised Jetpacks with more intricacy, and Frightened Rabbit with more grit.

Reminiscent of Sigur Ros merged with The Cranberries, only more graceful and melodic.

- Pop Dust

1. Moments
2. Fearless
3. Drowning
4. Run
5. By The Ocean
6. Where To Find You
7. Breathing
8. Highlands
9. Still I Miss You

First pressing limited to 300 copies:

• Aska (Milky Clear / Silver Swirl with Clear, White, and Oxblood Splatter) (200) - SOLD OUT
• Alda (Oxblood in Milky Clear Color-in-Color with White and Silver Splatter) (100) - SOLD OUT

Full color jacket printed on reverseboard stock with uncoated insert.

All orders include a hi-quality download of The Never-Ending Year.

"Is VAR the next big band from Iceland?"- Houston Chronicle

"... a beautiful flurry of spacious post-rock, anthemic alt-rock, and even languid dream pop at once serene and propulsive."- The Alternative

"...all throughout this album, there is a contrast. There’s soft and heavy, slow and fast, simple and complex, but above all, light and dark. This isn’t just an album, it’s a piece of art that can be interpreted in any form, and that is the real beauty about the post-rock genre."- Distorted Sound

"... in a similar league (with) other Icelandic post-rock gods…." - *A New Friend*

" of the most beautiful records of 2020..."- Prince Faster

"An album that conveys the melancholy of winter, but that warms like a summer sun."- Altprogcore

"A song that shines like a searchlight blaring bright from Reykjavík... brings a strong sense of heartfelt closeness during these distant times."- Week In Pop

"The Never-Ending Year” offers a taste of the quartet’s ethereal yet accessible style that falls gracefully somewhere between prog-rock, post-rock and just plain rock."- Houston Chronicle

"...dynamic, emotional, and filled an exuberance that recalls We Were Promised Jet Packs and Frightened Rabbit...a warm, emotionally driven slice of post-rock that unfolds in unexpected ways."- PopMatters

"The dreamy movements of this track are the perfect complement to the band’s distinct sound. It’s triumphant, poignant, and epic all in equal proportion, with slick production, immaculate composition and beautiful vocals."- Everything Is Noise

Alternative, Indie Rock
Album Length
Release Date
April 24, 2020
Catalog Number
LP / Digital