Subways on the Sun


Regular price $7.99

While the band set sail with its shimmering guitar-pop debut The Honeymoon Stagecoach in 2013, their sophomore album, Capsize, steers a course into grittier territory. Capsize is a collection of songs which showcases a fresh artistic trajectory, and follows our collective struggle to accept the passage of time and identify the voices in our lives that are worth listening to. And it’s immediately evident as anthemic opener “Just To Be With You” channels the heart racing spirit of Muse, with a riff-heavy synth-forward energy that rips through the whole record. Each song is a unique statement, drawing fluidly from each member’s influences. This comes across clearly in the Mew-inspired “Tongues,” combining jangly telecaster riffs and dirty-as-hell basslines. Remnants of early Jimmy Eat World shine through both on the album’s title track, “Capsize” and “Time’s Not Long,” while “I’m an Island” features lush textures and ethereal vocals akin to The Cure or Death Cab for Cutie. The longing for time to connect and create before our story is over flows through us all. Capsize invites us to embrace that reality, and discover our own ways to stay afloat.

1. Just To Be With You
2. Works
3. Hope You Like Getting Old
4. Capsize
5. Tongues
6. I'm An Island
7. Side You Play
8. Know It All
9. Time's Not Long
10. On Repeat
11. Side You Play (Sunstrom Sound Remix)

First pressing limited to 250 copies:

• "Young" (Milky Clear with Red, Yellow and Blue Splatter) (150) - SOLD OUT
• "Old" (Opaque Red) (100) - SOLD OUT

Full color jacket printed on reverseboard stock with a uncoated printed insert.

All orders include an instant download of Capsize and the bonus track "Side You Play (Sunstrom Sound Remix)."

Alternative, Indie Rock
Album Length
Release Date
September 21, 2018
Catalog Number
LP / Digital