Square Peg Round Hole


Regular price $24.99

Elegant, articulate, and expansive, Juniper, the new record from instrumental percussion trio Square Peg Round Hole manages to convey – and evoke – an entire range of human emotions despite its lack of a single sung word. "Because we are an instrumental group, our hope is that people connect with the songs and assign their own meanings to them," says Evan Chapman. "Without lyrics telling the listener how to feel, it leaves the music as an open-ended question." A sonic mirror reflecting the listener’s subconscious emotional state back at themselves, Juniper engages with the fundamental and primeval. The ultimate headphone record, luxurious with the energy of unison drums, or the serenity of bowed vibraphone, and the fascinating timbres of found objects/scrap metals, Juniper is a bold artist statement from a fearless creative force, at once expansive and intimate. Together with mix engineer Bryan Laurenson (Copeland), the band has created a record that speaks without words, taking listeners on a journey through the self.

1. Introduction
2. Our Town
3. A-Frame
4. Blithe
5. Momentary Light
6. Lapse
7. Juniper
8. Come Gone
9. Name Not One Man
10. Tomorrow River
11. Smashed
12. Unraveling

First pressing limited to 500 copies:

• "Melodica" (Black in Clear with White and Bronze Splatter) (250)
• "Resonator" (Brown/Bronze Swirl with Bone Haze) (150) - SOLD OUT
• "Rhodes” (Beer) (100) - SOLD OUT

Full color gatefold jacket printed on reverseboard stock with black dust jackets.

All orders include an instant high-quality download of Juniper.

Post-Rock, Instrumental
Album Length
Release Date
March 25, 2016
Catalog Number
2xLP / CD / Digital