Barren Womb

The sun's not yellow, it's chicken

Regular price $19.99

The sun's not yellow, it's chicken is the first full-length album from Norwegian noise mongers Barren Womb. After a handful of successful singles and EP's, the duo have already established their vicious blend of hardcore, black metal, country and rock 'n' roll. From the first jangly chords of opener "Kill Hicks" it quickly becomes apparent how much the band has grown since these first efforts. Broader dynamics, more focused songwriting and heavier sounding, topped off with the bleakest lyrics they've written to date. Recorded by Ole Spangrud of Mørkemakt and mixed by the band themselves, The sun's not yellow, it's chicken features 13 blisteringly honest noise punk ditties, all set in the key of apocalypse.

Hits so f*cking hard, you’ll feel like you kissed a freight train.

- The Front Row Report

1. Kill Hicks
2. Will you be God's art or Satan's graffiti
3. Evil prevails
4. Only Rain Man doesn't change
5. Nábrók
6. Obi-Wan Chernobyl
7. From robot jobs to robot homes
8. Live fast, die.
9. Bong Aqua
10. Zombies never go out of style
11. Assmasters of reality
12. Nexus Diplomis
13. Segway to heaven
14. Will you be God's art or Satan's graffiti (Tryne dett Remix) (Bonus Track)

First pressing limited to 500 copies:

• "Frog's Eye" (Yellow with Black Stripe) (100) - SOLD OUT
• Purple (200)
• Clear with Yellow, Purple, White, and Black Splatter (200)

Full color gatefold jacket printed on reverse board with white dust sleeves.

Noise Rock, Post Hardcore
Album Length
Release Date
March 11, 2014
Catalog Number