Unwed Sailor

Truth or Consequences

Regular price $19.99

The journey of Unwed Sailor began in Seattle, WA in 1998, shortly after Johnathon Ford departed critically praised bands Roadside Monument and Pedro the Lion. While working within those projects, Ford began writing instrumental music after listening to Tortoise, Pullman, and seeing bands like Physics perform live. After recruiting Dave Bazan (Pedro the Lion), Casey Wescott (Fleet Foxes), and Melissa Palladino (Danielson Famile) to play on the now classic Firecracker EP, Unwed Sailor was born. Two decades and seventeen releases later, Ford has continued to rely on the band as a device for personal exploration and emotive narration. Unwed Sailor now joins forces with Spartan Records for the release of their latest moody and cinematic journey, Truth or Consequences, a sonic examination of particular memories or moments in Johnathon Ford's life, with each song serving as a unique snapshot of an overarching narrative. Truth or Consequences is shaped around familiar musical DNA. Heavily present, driving, and stacked bass lines; wandering and evolving song structures; soaring crescendos and moody diminuendos; and, of course, a gripping sense of sonic storytelling.

1. Blitz
2. Palladora
3. Lilith
4. Ajo
5. Voodoo Roux
6. Truth or Consequences
7. Fellsway
8. Dark of the Morning


Second pressing limited to 300 copies:

• Blitz (Transparent Red / Clear Half and Half with Red, Gold, and White Splatter) (100)
• Ajo (Dark Green and Silver Pinwheel) (100)
• Lilith (Hot Pink with Baby Pink Butterfly Wings and White Splatter) (100)

Full color jacket printed on uncoated stock with full-color printed innersleeve.

All orders include an instant hi-quality download of Truth or Consequences.

First pressing limited to 500 copies:

• Truth (Blue, Gold and White Swirl with Neon Orange Splatter) (200) - <b>SOLD OUT</b>
• Consequences (Gold with Orange + Blue Stripes) (100) - <b>SOLD OUT</b>
• Transparent Orange (100) - <b>SOLD OUT</b>
• Baby Blue (100) - <b>SOLD OUT</b>


First pressing limited to 100 copies:

• Gold with White Imprint (50)
• White with Gold Imprint (50)

Post-Rock, Instrumental
Album Length
Release Date
May 14, 2021
Catalog Number
LP / CD / Cassette / Digital