Mountain Time

Music For Looking Animals

Regular price $9.99

In the aftermath of the dissolution of adored emo / indie rock bands Mineral and The Gloria Record, songwriter Chris Simpson took a step back from making music for the first time since his mid-teens. And it was during this period where an affinity for the music of the 1960s and ‘70s such as Van Morrison, Leonard Cohen, Harry Nilsson, Bob Dylan, The Velvet Underground and many more, along with the freedom and expression of jazz and artists who radically followed their own vision, took root. With additional inspiration drawn from the arenas of psychology and eastern philosophy, the beauty of the natural world, Simpson’s children and wife, old Time Life books, and the self-stated immenseness of the universe, Mountain Time has become almost more of a state-of-mind than a moniker.

1. Rosemary, Etc.
2. Death Pause
3. Becoming All Things
4. Royalties
5. Empty Graves
6. Lady Of The Radiator
7. Foretold In G
8. Modern Living

First pressing limited to 500 copies:

• Penguin (Coke Bottle / White Half and Half with White Splatter) (200) - SOLD OUT
• Coke Bottle Green (100) - SOLD OUT
• White (100) - SOLD OUT
• Olive Green (100) - SOLD OUT

Full color jacket printed on reverseboard stock with uncoated insert.

All orders include an instant hi-quality download of Music For Looking Animals.

“'Rosemary, Etc.’ reflects Simpson’s deep dive into Sixties and Seventies music ... It is a bustling tune that finds Simpson arranging a pastoral mix of horns, twinkling guitars and choral vocals around a steady acoustic strum and percussion stomp.” – Rolling Stone

“'Rosemary, Etc.' is a brass-laden folk-rock sway seasoned with Simpson’s
alt-rock pedigree." – Stereogum

“Simpson’s lyrics are searching and vivid … ‘Empty Graves’ is a meticulously
arranged indie folk number that pairs his haunting poetry with lilting
instrumentals.” – American Songwriter

Indie Folk, Singer-Songwriter
Album Length
Release Date
June 26, 2020
Catalog Number
LP / Digital