Florida Man

Florida Man's sound may be as unnerving as a Google search of their band name, but on their sophomore full-length Tropical Depression, the Charleston, SC noise-punks harness roaring blasts of distortion and a fascination with the bleaker side of life to create one of the year’s most uncompromising and cathartic releases.

Made up of vocalist Jim O'Connor, guitarist Andrew Barnes, bassist CJ DeLuca, and drummer Jonathan Peace, Florida Man's members are all longtime friends and collaborators from the southeastern punk and hardcore scenes. After spending years playing drums in other groups Barnes began reacquainting himself with guitar after the end of his most recent project, and as the riffs began to pile up he turned to his like-minded friends and fans of aggressive music to form a new band. They chose the name Florida Man as a tongue-in-cheek tribute to the underbelly that often inspired them sonically and lyrically, and it wasn’t long before the band was turning heads with their raucous live show and 2017 self-titled debut full-length.

Now on Tropical Depression, Florida Man have honed their pummelling sonics while simultaneously upping the unhinged ante. Producer/engineer Zac Thomas (Baroness, Kylesa) provides the album with definition and weight without losing the band’s innate, swampy grit, perfectly capturing Florida Man’s ability to move from razor sharp guitar lines to surging waves of effects and fuzz within a single song. Tropical Depression effectively filters the spirits of the most legendary noise rock and post-hardcore scenes -- San Diego’s angular attack (Hot Snakes, No Knife), Seattle’s sheer power (Botch, These Arms Are Snakes), Chicago’s sonic depravity (The Jesus Lizard, Shellac), and DC’s unbridled creativity (Fugazi, Faraquet) -- through the band's unique brand of sweat-soaked southern grime and a dose of hardcore aggression courtesy of O'Connor's gravel-throated vocals.